Maintenance Discuss common Lexus maintenance questions here.

Changing fog light bulbs on 93 GS 300

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-02, 12:19 PM
Sovero1
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Need help changing fog lights on 93 GS 300

I am a newbie and would like some tips on how to access the fog light assembly to change the OEM bulbs to Xenon ones. People keep telling me to look for some screws to easily pop out the light, but I cannot find them.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Ed

Last edited by Sovero1; 10-15-02 at 02:23 PM.
Old 10-17-02, 11:50 AM
Pianoman72
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You might want to get with Jmai. I think he did exactly that. Pretty sure he did a write-up about it in the 1st gen forum. let us know how it goes.
Old 10-18-02, 03:16 AM
Jmai22
Lexus Fanatic

lets have a moderator move this to the first gen300 forum.

when you say xenon do you mean cheap 20 dollar xenon or real 500 dollar xenon. there is quiet a difference

Well first off. don't try to put real xenon into the stock foglight housing. trust me i tried it and it was actually a lot worst than the stock halogen bulb was. here is why.

On the H3 bulb the filement is perpendicular to the bulb. like this +. with the filement sideways like this it causes the light to go straight out like its suppose to. on a HID bulb the filament or capsule is parrellel like this |i| causing the light to come out from the side.