Maintenance Discuss common Lexus maintenance questions here.

Oil changes etc

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-02, 06:29 PM
hudoff
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs down Oil changes etc

Sorry if this is off topic but I'm a newbie here on this forum group.

I bought a Lexus RX300 on March 9. I had owned Mercedes Benz's and this was the best experience and also I think the best vehicle. The shopping experience was wonderful and the dealer almost perfect except for a little discussion of why I needed "Lo-Jack" <g>

What I didn't like was the recommended "local" service costs.

For example:
every 5000 mile Oil Change 44.95 plus 14.95 to clean and test the battery.
(I've owned cars for a zillion years and never cleaned or tested my battery <g>.
34.95 to clean and adjust the brakes. (at 5000 miles)?

Oh, BTW I think the 1000 and the 5000 mile service are on the house so they can clean and test whatever they want.
Oh, I just may paint a little red dot on the battery to see if they really "clean" it <LOL>

Hold on-- at 15,000 miles it gets even better:

44.95 for the oil change
37.95 for an air filter
74.95 transmission service (they want to add "conditioner")
14.95 for that battery thing again
32.95 for wiper inserts (no windshield replacement necessary <g>
14.95 for cooling system service
104.95 to replace the differential fluid!!! Am I missing something here?
34.95 for the brake service.
The total is 385.60
Obviously the 30,000 is 595.50 and the 60,000 mile is:
a whopping 782.95.
I'm going to check the owner's manual and see if what they say is really necessary

Oh my, do they have to make all their money from the service
department.

Shame on them and shame on me if I fall for any of that.
Well, what is your experience?

Looks like I'm back to changing my own oil with synthetic for much, much less. Also I can look at the battery when I'm under the hood for zero dollars!!