Maintenance Discuss common Lexus maintenance questions here.

Synthetic oil to Regular oil?

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-06, 10:16 AM
hemogoblin
Lexus Test Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Synthetic oil to Regular oil?

I have a 92 SC300 with 186K. For the last 6-7 oil changes, I have been using Mobile 1 1030.. But after getting a valve cover gasket and distributor gasket redone, im thinkinga bout going back to regular non synth oil.

Anyone have any input on this? I remember hearing once you go synthetic you shouldnt go back. I may just stick to synthetic and fix the leaks, but dont know when I would be able to afford fixing my Cam seal leak.

And whats good dino? All i know about is Mobile 1 synthetic.
Old 04-15-06, 08:32 PM
qwerty123
Driver School Candidate

Default Changing from Synthetic to Reg Oil

I'm not an expert, But I've been told that you shouldn't go back bacause of possible leaking from seals and gaskets. Just a little advice
Old 04-15-06, 09:22 PM
T0ked
Lexus Champion

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Usually the advice is not to go synthetic after high miles as it may cause leaking due its superior cleaning ability vs dino oil. It cleans out carbon deposits that may have been plugging leaks. Don't really think there are any downfalls to going back to dino from synth, though. I have 102k miles on my car. I'm doing the AutoRx treatment and have been using dino for the last 1000 miles. Was using synth from 30k. No problems at all so far.
Old 04-15-06, 09:28 PM
GSteg
Rookie

Received 78 Likes on 60 Posts

Originally Posted by T0ked