LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Thermostat Question

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-17, 07:33 AM
sha4000
Lexus Test Driver

Received 334 Likes on 288 Posts
Default Thermostat Question

Forgive my ignorance since I'm new to the 460 and It's a totally different animal than my 400 and 430 for that fact. I searched for days with lots of different word combinations on my no heat problem and I still can't figure out what the issue is exactly. My heater on high blows cool to luke warm air at times. I might of had some good heat once in the 2 weeks I've owned the car. I see the previous owner complained about this same issue back in 2013 and it was stated it was low on coolant from a leak in the radiator. Lexus installed a new radiator and the PO was back a week later complaining about the same issue. The tech checked the water pump and thermostat and did not see any issues but then said the HVAC box was faulty and the PO declined the repair. We all know that the dealership does not really diagnose lots of issues and when they get stumped they tend to change parts until the find the problem. I'm assuming the tech flushed and bled the system correctly prior to returning the car. Also the PO serviced this car religiously at the dealer up to 80k so I would think they would do whatever to accommodate him. This car basically sat idle from 2014 till i purchased it. I specifically asked if the HVAC issue was addressed and was told it was through emails and phones calls since I had to fly to Chicago to purchased it. If it does turn out to be the HVAC I might be on the hook but I'm ok with that since everything else is almost perfect other than the ML amp which I'm keeping an eye on. I'm the ultimate DIY guy so I have no problem doing whatever work I have to do within reason. I am in contact with the dealer about these issues but I don't have high hopes since it's so far away.