LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Buy previously wrecked??

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-17, 02:21 PM
Bdoubleu
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buy previously wrecked??

Hi ClubLexus!
Im new to ClubLexus and I'm currently in the market for an older model used luxury vehicle. (2008-2011 between 80k-100k). I'm not extremely familiar with Lexus but I stumbled upon this forum a couple months ago and now I'm on a mission to get an LS460. I've owned Toyotas and have grown to love their reliability.

. Throughout my recent search I've discovered ways to research maintenance records and history. I recently found a 2010 LS that had an accident but was repaired. The damage was done to the front and drivers side area of the vehicle. Would it be worth my while to look into this vehicle or should I avoid any thing that's been in any sort of accident? My worry is that there's unforeseen engine damage that will forever cause problems since the front of the vehicle was repaired.

All thoughts and suggestions welcomed.

thanks!
Old 07-31-17, 06:07 AM
Wandl
Lexus Test Driver

Received 73 Likes on 51 Posts

I personally wouldn't be scared of a vehicle with an accident on 2 assumptions
- you're going to keep the car for a LONG time (i.e. you won't care too much about resale value)
- the repair is inspected (take it to a body shop) properly

Most (caveat...MOST) body shops are halfway decent nowadays so if I can get a good deal on a vehicle with an accident history that doesn't impact the mechanical condition of the vehicle, I'd go for it.
Old 07-31-17, 06:31 AM
mbarron37
Advanced

Received 73 Likes on 57 Posts

If the damage was minor, I would consider it. Bring to a body shop and have them go through the car. If they raise any red flags, then just walk away. If major damage, then I would not consider.