LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

Inspection Ideas - Buying a car

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-18, 09:46 AM
OliveTree
Rookie

Received 11 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Inspection Ideas - Buying a car

I have identified a couple of cars in my area. One at a small dealership and one from a private party. I'm not a mechanic and I don't have a mechanic who can come with me to inspect the cars.

What other options do I have to have the car inspected? Can I bring it to a local mechanic for an inspection? Will the dealer agree to that?

How have others dealt with this?
Old 11-15-18, 09:53 AM
Htony
Lexus Champion

Received 133 Likes on 123 Posts

Originally Posted by peacock
I have identified a couple of cars in my area. One at a small dealership and one from a private party. I'm not a mechanic and I don't have a mechanic who can come with me to inspect the cars.

What other options do I have to have the car inspected? Can I bring it to a local mechanic for an inspection? Will the dealer agree to that?
If dealer does not agree to that, drop it.

How have others dealt with this?
In my local area AMA insurance provides vehicle inspection service to members. I'd prefer to deal with a dealer if possible. In case something happens after purchase
they are in better position to deal with it. The dealer should have a inspection report for your review. Getting hold of official CPO vehicle might be a better idea.

Old 11-15-18, 10:19 AM
TriC
Racer

Received 266 Likes on 200 Posts

Only after checking Carfax and a vehicle's service history through the Lexus website, is a third-party inspection in order. The are multiple inspection options. Reaching out for a knowledgeable ClubLexus member for help is one way. Another is taking the car to a Lexus dealership (though not one that has previously serviced the car) or a well regarded mechanic. A third way is by hiring Lemon Squad.