LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Center vent assembly removal (98-00)

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-19, 06:26 PM
Fit1too
Advanced

Received 125 Likes on 109 Posts
Default Center vent assembly removal (98-00)

I had difficulty removing the center vent assembly and thought I would share what I experienced. I studied an online video to accomplish the task, but of course it wasn’t as easy as shown. The video shows 2 clips on each side of the assembly that need to be released, but it doesn’t show the difficulty in pulling the whole thing out. There is a clip on the back side of the assembly up high. It clicks into a bracket in the dash as shown in the pix. You have to pull the assembly toward you from the bottom and this creates a sort of bind. I was afraid I was going to break something, but it finally gave way and I was able to get it out. The pix show the tools I used, the placement of paper towels to avoid damaging the climate control panel beneath the center vent assembly, one of the release clips on the side, the clip on the back of the assembly, and the bracket in the dash. After getting it out, I was then finally able to fix the horizontal portion of my left vent, which has been on my to-do list for months. This is the video I studied:

The following users liked this post:
Peacebay (05-19-19)
Old 05-19-19, 08:52 PM
Stroock639
Lexus Test Driver

Received 245 Likes on 186 Posts

this piece comes out very easily if you know about the clips and have 3 hands
Old 05-20-19, 05:48 AM
Fit1too
Advanced

Received 125 Likes on 109 Posts

Originally Posted by Stroock639
this piece comes out very easily if you know about the clips and have 3 hands
Exactly, and I was trying to fix something, not break something.
Old 02-02-23, 04:16 AM
kroebje
10th Gear

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts

Hello there,