LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

P/S Problem '94 LS400

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-11, 09:08 PM
MrParts
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation P/S Problem '94 LS400

First, I have read the "P/S Bible" and used "Search" for an answer.

Here's my problem:

The power steering works perfect traveling in a straight line.
When I turn it an 1/8 of a turn, it stops working.
I turn it (with a lot of muscle) another 1/8 of a turn and it starts working again.
It does this all the way to the left or right every 1/8 of a turn, on off, on off, etc, etc .....
It's doesn't matter what the RPM's are, it doesn't change.

I'm a highly skilled mechanic with 30+ years of experience and I have NEVER come across this before with any car.

I have not cleaned or changed the little screens yet.

It doesn't use any fluid, doesn't drip on the alternator, doesn't leave a puddle when I park or in the driveway.
It doesn't blow white smoke from sucking P/S fluid through the vacuum hoses connected to the intake manifold.

I was told the rack had been change not long before I bought it, but that could have just been the guy lying wanting to desperately sell it.

Do you have any idea what the problem could be before I rip it out and rebuild the rack?
Old 04-09-11, 03:12 PM
PureDrifter
BahHumBug

Received 94 Likes on 86 Posts

sounds like the solenoid's dead/not hooked up.
Old 04-09-11, 03:13 PM
deanshark
Pole Position

Received 312 Likes on 269 Posts

Change the screens and do a search for the PS solenoid, I think that causes your problem. That happened to my car once, and only once, so I never looked into it. Funny story, kinda. The day I bought the car my daughter was driving it home, we were coming off an exit which had a 90* turn. The road turned, she didn't, in the woods she went with my new car. No damage so everything was fine.
Old 04-09-11, 03:16 PM
nine3es
Lead Lap