LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

need advice on getting 1st LS 400

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-02, 08:14 PM
Gladee8er
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default need advice on getting 1st LS 400

I am an auto salesman that sells new Chevy, Pontiac, Buick, and Olds, and anything used I can get my hand on! I have just recently discovered Lexus, and decided to buy one for my next car. I can comfortably handle spending up to 20,000 total, including the best extended warranty I can get get(depending on the year and mileage).

I wonder if I should save a little more money and get a low-mileage 97, or get a bargain older model. I would like to hear opinions from all you Lexus enthuseists on which year would be a good choice.

I commute from work to home (notice I mentioned work first) an average of 300 miles per week(about 15,000 per year. I live in Maine, so traction control is a must! Anyone who has owned one in a snow climate, please send me your feedback on the performance of the traction control on snow covered roads.

I want a luxury ride that is dependable, and low enough miles so I can get an extended warranty for at least 3 or 4 years. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Mark
Old 08-03-02, 11:05 PM
velandia
Driver School Candidate

Can't comment on traction control but here's my 2 cents:

I think the trick to finding a good used car is finding one with an owner who has taken good care of it. Once you do this, it is very much a personal choice (financial situation, intended use of car, how long you intend to keep it, etc.) whether or not you're willing to pay in the neighborhood of the asking price.

I think you could go with an older model for under 20k that will provide reliable transportation for 5+ years (w/ or w/o extd warantee), and hopefully you have some connections (being in the car business) that might make your dollar go further.