LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Purchase : 1999 LS 400

Old 07-26-06, 09:05 AM
gpgunhouse
8th Gear

Received 5 Likes on 1 Post
Default Purchase : 1999 LS 400

Hello

I am new to Club Lexus and would really appreciate any and all feedback. I am considering purchasing a low milage 1999 LS 400 with 43k on the odometer. The car is located in south Florida and with the exception of a small scratch on a fender appears to be in beautiful condition. The car has had two owners since new. With 43k on the clock I found this questionable at first but was told by the broker that this is quite common in south florida due to the elderly population.
Another concern is the car does not come with books. I was able to verify with the local Lexus dealer that the car has been serviced regularly (15k,25k,30k major,40K, trunk struts replaced,new battery, tires and brake pads). In addition, the carfax verified the milage and accident report. It appears dealers get rid of the books when they wholesale cars to broker/dealers (privacy issues).
Being realistic,I am estimating I could put a $1000 dollars into the car taking care of the scratch and any initial service issues. I think i can buy the car for 17K. One last point, I have only seen pictures of the car and have not had a chance to personally inspect the vehicle. The broker has agreed to provide me an out clause if I am not satisfied after picking up the car.I am asking for the collective wisdom of this group regarding your thoughts, opinions or suggestions.

Great Site!

G Gunhouse
Old 07-26-06, 11:58 AM
Alan D
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Is it this one on ebay?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/FLORI...QQcmdZViewItem