LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

1994 LS400 OEM Wheel polish/scratch repair

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-23, 05:52 PM
ACValkyrie
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 1994 LS400 OEM Wheel polish/scratch repair

I've been looking into doing a detail on the car and was wondering if anyone had any tips for polishing the oem 16" wheels, mostly looking to take out some minor scratches and shine them up. I'm fairly new to detailing, am I safe approaching it like I'm hand polishing part of the body with compound, polish and wax? Any advice is appreciated, happy to be part of the community too.
Old 09-10-23, 07:15 PM
LeX2K
Lexus Champion

Received 2,759 Likes on 2,334 Posts

Depends how badly they are scratched. Your wheels are painted so the process is just like body work, polish or if necessary touch up paint or a total repaint. Post a couple of images.
The following users liked this post:
ACValkyrie (09-11-23)
Old 09-11-23, 05:25 PM
ACValkyrie
6th Gear

Originally Posted by LeX2K
Depends how badly they are scratched. Your wheels are painted so the process is just like body work, polish or if necessary touch up paint or a total repaint. Post a couple of images.

Here's a couple pics, like i said its fairly minor, lots of it is on the centre caps which is a relief in a way and some little chips

Old 09-11-23, 07:23 PM
LeX2K
Lexus Champion

That's very minor especially considering how old your car is. For the center cap can try finding a good used one, the wheel itself hit it with touch up paint. I get mine from a local auto body supply do you happen to be in Calgary?
ACValkyrie (09-11-23)
Old 09-11-23, 07:52 PM
CELSI0R
Racer

Received 290 Likes on 227 Posts

Keep in mind that the paint on the plastic center caps is thin compared to the rims.

As Lex2K mentioned, I would suggest touch up paint for the chips on your rim. Those probably happened from shops removing the cap with a screwdriver