Lexus Audio, Video, Security & Electronics
Sponsored by:

Redo entire audio system in my SC300?

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-12, 06:51 PM
deputy865
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Redo entire audio system in my SC300?

Well I bought a double din for my SC300 and planned on it being an easy install as the rest of my double dins have.. I was wrong. The harness that was recommended to me seemed to be the wrong one, there weren't enough wires basically. The guy at Best Buy also was telling me about running wires to each and every speaker.. etc etc etc.. I'm new to this whole thing and I honestly didn't really understand it...

Is installing this thing easier then what I'm thinking it is or should I just redo the entire audio system in the car?

Has the stock Nakamichi system in it but it isn't working for ****. So I was thinking about getting all new door speakers, amp and a sub to replace the factory one. Would I be missing anything?

I'm just looking to update the system and have a nice, clean, crisp sound system. Nothing stupid loud.

Shane
The following users liked this post:
LucasCoop (08-08-22)
Old 03-04-12, 06:42 AM
tneig002
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The reason there weren't enough wires is because you have the upgraded amplified system (i.e. Nakamichi). If you don't care about retaining the factory subwoofer, then you can just hardwire the power for the radio at the factory harness and then do an amp bypass to power the speakers off the aftermarket head unit. Technically you can integrate the sub this way from the RCA outputs on the head unit but it's a little more complicated and not recommended. You should NOT have to run new lines to all the speakers; the factory output lines at the amplifier should be all with which you need to interface for speaker integration.