IS - 3rd Gen (2014-present) Discussion about the 2014+ model IS models

How to: Brake fluid replacement

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-18, 06:13 PM
bob123
Driver

Received 20 Likes on 14 Posts
Default How to: Brake fluid replacement

I am not a professional and will not be held responsible for any damage or injury caused by these instructions.

Part of my 60K service, brake fluid replacement is needed. Yes, I understand brake fluid replacement should be exchanged based from time, not miles, but first time fluid has been replaced since purchasing vehicle last Spring.
I will be completing this service every brake pad replacement or two years, whichever comes first from this point forward.
Best time to complete this service is during brake pad/rotor replacement since wheels are already off the vehicle which is 80% of the work for those who have a floor jack and jack stands.
From several recommendations and further research, I decided to use the one person power bleed method with the exception of not adding fluid to the pressure tank. Will further explain below.

Tools used:
Motive power bleeder - 101 model for Lexus vehicles
100 ml syringe (To remove old fluid from reservoir)
3/16 inch I.D. silicone hose
Empty clear water bottle (Catch old fluid)
44 Oz. DOT 3 fluid (Planning to use more next replacement)
8mm wrench (Rear brake bleeder screw)
10mm wrench (Front brake bleeder screw)
3/8 inch torque wrench (bleeder screws)
Sil-Glyde (Prevent fluid escape around bleeder screw threads)
Gloves

1). Start with the wheel furthest away from the brake reservoir and progressively work closer. Passenger rear, driver rear, passenger front, then driver front.
2). I covered the area around the reservoir just to be safe from any fluid drips.