IS - 3rd Gen (2014-present) Discussion about the 2014+ model IS models

Best Gas Out There?

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-14, 08:26 PM
jay631987
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best Gas Out There?

Hey guys what is the best company for gas (premium only)? I know you can't have the best of both worlds in terms of better additives to better gas mileage. So breaking down into two categories what is the best company for additives and gas mileage?
Old 03-25-14, 08:59 PM
Jack1995
Rookie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I know a guy (met him while I was waiting at the dealership, don't know which department he is working) working at Lexus dealership and previously working for Mercedes for 19 years. He told me Cheveron has the best quality and is the cleanest gas out there because of the techron added in the gas. I'm not an expert, this is just what I heard. From my personal experience, my preference are chevron and shell. If I would to compare the two, I FEEL like shell last a bit longer than chevron. I only fill up half tank every time i go to gas station, and it seems like shell's gas runs longer, again its just my personal feeling Hope it helps
Old 03-26-14, 07:40 AM
jay631987
Driver

Thanks man, yea I've heard the same for Cheveron but the sad thing is there are none around me. I heard V-Power is good for cleaning but in terms of MPG...maybe BP can top that? Not sure of that yet...
Old 03-26-14, 07:49 AM
NYKnick101
Lexus Test Driver

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

There is really no good gas or bad gas out there. Its all about which brand/station has more additives/gal compared to others.

I've never had issues with the local Citgo/Gulf gas station but when ever i buy fuel from BP, it tends to last longer. There was a recent news spot on ABC or CBS that took gas to a lab to have it tested and proved that Shell was actually the best gas with more additives/gal.
Old 03-26-14, 08:41 AM
Lost808
Pole Position