IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Lost my key fob, Part II - It was found! But something's fishy...

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-08, 01:42 PM
Reyngel
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lost my key fob, Part II - It was found! But something's fishy...

Okay, so two weeks ago, I posted about how I misplaced my key fob while at work:

https://www.clublexus.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=354930

Let me also say that I'm a teacher at an elementary school.

To make a long story short, one of the Preschool teachers texted me just now saying that she found my key.

Awesome. Right?

First, I have to get back into work in about an hour and check to make sure it's mine. But she says she's sure it's it.

There's something weird about the situation, though.

See, she says she found it in the first-aid bag that goes outside with a teacher when kids go to play on a playground.

Uh, what?

Here's the thing. I lost the key in a span of only two hours... sometime between 7am and 9am. By 9am, I had retraced all of my steps and gone to every spot possible, and it was nowhere to be found. And trust me, it wasn't just overlooked or something. It just simply wasn't where I'd been.

I also had the entire school searching for it with a reward to any kid who could find it, or tell me who had it. I also stated that no one would get in trouble, and that I wouldn't even ask any questions. I said I'd simply give $5 for the key.

For two weeks, kids looked everywhere. I mean, to a kid, $5 is everything. I had kids coming up to me constantly asking if anyone had found it yet, and still nothing.

All of my coworkers know that I was missing it, and I showed them my backup one so that they'd know what it looked like in case they found it.

So how did it mysteriously wind up in the first-aid bag?

First of all, the bag's probably been used at least a dozen times since I lost my key. Which means the key somehow wound up in the bag on Friday.