Hybrid Technology Unique topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX400H model hybrid drivetrain and other features/options found only on the RX400H. Please use the main forum for discussion about shared components with other second generation RX models.

Issues towing boat up boat ramp.

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-15, 02:04 PM
smassey321
Lead Lap

Received 23 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Issues towing boat up boat ramp.

I have been towing our boat with the hybrid for several years now. Recently the water levels in CA have been very low. Because of this the boat ramps are almost completely out of the water. The bottom of the boat ramps are a concrete ledge that is usually a small 6 inch drop off with large rocks to catch you. This 6" curb is what is causing the issue.

Getting a loaded trailer up this curb takes a fair amount of torque and traction. Both of which the AWD RX400h has. The problem is that the software severely limits power to the wheels at a dead stand still. Power delivery is increased quickly as soon as wheels start rolling.

So with the 3000 lb boat up against the small curb, the RX is not capable of generating enough power to pull it up this curb. Even with the pedal floored. It just sits there at 1500 rpm and does nothing. To get it up the curb I resort to backing up to get a small running start but this is risky and could trap me even farther out. It also puts the rear wheels on the wet part of the ramp. Not that they get enough torque to spin but I still don't like it.

Other than this issue the hybrid is a great tow vehicle. It has lots of mid range torque. There are no clutches to wear or overheat in the transmission. The brakes are strong and do not overheat. And the rear springs are firm and don't sag.
Old 03-19-15, 04:12 AM
thomas1
Pole Position

Received 91 Likes on 77 Posts

That picture just scares me, I can see the hybrid in the water with water on the batteries....
Old 03-19-15, 10:17 AM
Bobomo
Driver School Candidate