Hybrid Technology Unique topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX400H model hybrid drivetrain and other features/options found only on the RX400H. Please use the main forum for discussion about shared components with other second generation RX models.

Gas motor almost always running - normal?

Old 02-16-13, 02:07 PM
RedoneLex
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gas motor almost always running - normal?

I am new to hybrids and I just got a 2006 400h. I know it is not the same technology as the Prius, but I was surprised that the 400h rarely runs in electric mode only. Turn the key and the gas motor comes on in a few seconds even before putting it in drive. At red light is the only time that the gas motor is off. Is this the way it is supposed to work?
Old 02-16-13, 02:30 PM
spacecraft
Pit Crew

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Yes and no.
Does the ICE start a few seconds after you turn the key also when it's already warm?

In my '08 400h, it does start after a few seconds when it's cold, but after it warms up it only starts whenever:
a) the batteries are low, or
b) the speed is too high for electric alone (i.e. above 30 mph or so), or
c) you press the accelerator without thinking that there's an egg behind it.

Mind, even at low speed, you must indeed be EXTREMELY light on the accelerator, if you don't want to burn any gas...
Old 02-16-13, 02:45 PM
maseace
Pole Position

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

It IS the same technology as the Prius, and all other Toyota/Lexus hybrids. The RX is a bigger, heavier vehicle, with a bigger combustion engine and a rear electric motor for AWD. Because of this, it will not run in electric-only mode as often as a Prius, but it will still do it under the same circumstances. You can get it in an extended "glide" if the engine is warm, and you are coasting or very light on the gas pedal on a level street, under 42 mph. It helps to have a ScanGauge II computer so you can see your engine RPM, temp, etc.