When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.
I just bought the rear shock absorber thru eBay from buyautoparts. The shock I'm received is KYB brand. Is it Genuine Toyota parts as they claimed? I might loose 15% restocking fee plus shipping if I return for refund. I would greatly appreciate your inputs. Thanks.
I do believe KYB is the OEM manufacturer. While searching the forum for info on the front stabalizer link assembly I ran across several threads on the other model's forums stating that they were the OEM manufacturer.
Do a quick search across all boards on CL and you should find plenty of info on KYB
My original shocks have KYB stamp on them. Looks like your shocks came with the right electrical connection so it's OEM. There are no aftermarket direct replacement for GX470 which works with damping control.
I replaced mine but with aftermarket Fox shocks. I obviously lost my damping control.
eBay link: http://www.ebay.com/itm/PAIR-BRAND-NEW-GENUINE-OEM-COMPLETE-REAR-SUSPENSION-SHOCK-ABSORBER-LEXUS-GX470-/300695496786?pt=Motors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&fits=Make%3ALexus&hash=item4602d92852&vxp=mtr= 1394.95 for both
The ebay listing doesn't specify the manufacturer and they are more expensive than the Sewell parts... which are definitely OEM.
Last edited by bauer26; May 4, 2013 at 09:06 AM.
Reason: Too add ebay link
Looks like our OP paid $799 for the pair? Which is a smoking deal for OEM parts compared to Sewell
Yes, you're correct as you wrote about the ebay pair you linked. However, when I first replied and did an eBay search I linked the cheapest pair *at the time* which was also from buyautoparts. According to the purchase history you linked and the current buy it now price, it looks like buyautoparts has more than doubled the price to the current $1294.95 (hint: you can see all the revisions that have been made to the listing, they steadily increased the price). The OP may have gotten lucky and gotten a sweet deal on eBay but that deal is no longer available to people like froger1664.
That being said, I mentioned that there is no brand information and all a buyer on that ebay page has to go from is a STOCK photo. I've been burned once before on eBay when relying solely on a STOCK photo so I tend to be wary of such especially when no brand information is mentioned in the description.
Yes they raise the price when they either sell a set or get asked enough about the item. Seen this many times as it's been on my wish list in ebay for about 6 months. It will go back down after about a month.
I have 10 of these coming in a week ill be selling them for 350 a pair the rear I could sell for 750 a pair genuine these guys here are ripping us off
You really need a bit more than 2 posts to be trusted here and as I have been flogged in the past for this, but you have to post your sale in the sale threads for this specific vehicle. I cannot remember the minimum post requirement if any to post a sale but I would check on that too.
You really need a bit more than 2 posts to be trusted here and as I have been flogged in the past for this, but you have to post your sale in the sale threads for this specific vehicle. I cannot remember the minimum post requirement if any to post a sale but I would check on that too.
With that said I might bite on a pair!
just trying to help and besides we all have to start somewhere ill be posting pics and stealth sub mods of my gx soon