ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

Rookie DIYer in need of guidance. Snapped a hose on my '99 ES300.

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-17, 05:43 PM
mggeisen
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rookie DIYer in need of guidance. Snapped a hose on my '99 ES300.

Hi, I've found a lot of good information on these forums before but this is my first time posting. This week my '99 ES300 engine was misfiring and the CEL codes led me to this forum's DIY on replacing the oil control valves. The first step was to disconnect and move some hoses out of the way, and the first one I tried was rock hard and snapped with just a moderate tug. Argh.

Through some research here I learned that it's a vacuum line coming from the ERG valve, which connects to a plastic vacuum surge tank, and then continues down to another metal line. The hardened hose would not come off the surge tank and eventually I snapped that end of the tank trying too. I succeded in my original repair so I thought I'd temporarily run some hose from the ERG valve to the now-exposed end of hose that the surge tank was connected to, but that hose began cracking as soon as I started inserting a male-to-male hose connector.

So it seems to me that 18 years by an engine has cooked this hose and there is no reconnecting it without replacing the whole thing. I already have a new surge tank ordered, but I'm not sure if I need anything special to replace the hose. I don't know what runs through this line or at what temps and pressures. Will a length of hose from an auto parts store be sufficient? Further down the hose is an "Evap Service Port" sticking out. Can I do without that? Should I just cave and get the OEM hose?

Any advice on replacement or info on what this hose does is appreciated.

Vacuum surge tank and connected hoses before breaking
Evap service port about a foot and a half down the line
Old 12-15-17, 08:50 PM