Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

ways to keep mice out of stored vehicles

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-18, 09:30 AM
05ls430518
Pole Position

Received 190 Likes on 168 Posts
Default ways to keep mice out of stored vehicles

I am only 26 and have only had 6 cars and this is my first year storing a nice car for winter time to not expose it to salt, do any of you more experienced car owners have any tricks or ways to keep mice out of your car. I am using lavender scented dryer sheets and a mouse made a nest right on my new cabin filter so i ordered a new one cleaned up the mess and the mouse came back this morning.

If anyone has any advice please let me know I will be setting up mouse traps tomorow.
Old 01-29-18, 09:57 AM
JDR76
Lexus Champion

Received 1,629 Likes on 1,037 Posts

The only deterant I've had any kind of success with is peppermint oil. They really hate it.

I would put some peppermint oil on a cotton ball and wipe it on the places under-hood that the mouse liked to visit most - engine cover and air filter box. I also found leaving the hood open and the garage lights on helped.

That provided some intermittent success until I finally caught him and found where he was getting into my garage. I was able to patch that up and no others came in.

I caught him in a peanut butter baited electrocution trap. That was the only kind of trap I had any success with.

Good luck. This is a difficult problem to solve.
Old 01-29-18, 10:20 AM
LeX2K
Lexus Fanatic

Received 3,049 Likes on 2,562 Posts

A cat is by far the most effective solution.

Old 01-29-18, 10:25 AM
mjeds
Lexus Champion

Received 188 Likes on 145 Posts

Originally Posted by Lexus2000
A cat is by far the most effective solution.
agreed... multiple cats are even better.
Old 01-29-18, 10:55 AM
Autobacs
Lead Lap

Received 23 Likes on 19 Posts

Originally Posted by JDR76