Car Chat General discussion about Lexus, other auto manufacturers and automotive news.

Complete noob oil question

Old 03-22-17, 02:46 PM
Lukasteam
Driver School Candidate

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Complete noob oil question

Hi guy's , now to many this might sound like a complete noob question , but I really want your opinion . I'm looking at the first gen GX470 and the owner says that he oil changes were every 5K miles with conventional oil . He says thats what the Lexus calls for .
This really bothers because IMO conventional oil change intervals should be 3K miles .
....so should I be worried about longevity of the vehicle that ran 5K between the changes with conventional bottom of the barrel oil ?
Old 03-22-17, 04:57 PM
UDel
Lexus Fanatic

Received 296 Likes on 223 Posts

I would not really worry about it. There are other factors in oil change intervals then just miles. How many miles are on the GX and how long do you plan on keeping it? What "conventional" oil did the owner use, did they get it changed at the Lexus dealership and use what Lexus recommend or some quickie lube places with the cheapest oil, what is the climate like where it is being sold, really hot/really cold, was it driven in a lot of stop and go traffic in short intervals or were they mostly highway miles? If you plan on keeping it for over 200K miles then maybe you want one with the engine maintained as best as possible but I doubt it did any damage at all and Lexus engines are generally very good, the IS250 and 3L ES engines have some issues with carbon fouling and oil sludge.
Old 03-22-17, 05:46 PM
Lukasteam
Driver School Candidate

... and see that's what's bothering me . It wasn't serviced at Lexus dealership and the owner says , because dealership prices are expensive and I kinda understand that , but you spent all that money on a new GX and now being cheap on a regular maintenance , me personally I wouldn't do that .