Build Threads Details on Club Lexus SC owner vehicles

New Daily: 1992 SC400, next project car

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-11, 10:18 AM
lithium14
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New Daily: 1992 SC400, next project car

Hey guys!! Names Andrew and I am currently a full-time student after completing my 4 year contract with the Marines (1st Bn, 5th Mar, A Co, 2nd Plt). Here's the story:

My 1988 Supra turbo was handed down to me by my dad who was the first owner. They bought the supra when my mom was pregnant with me, so it was the car I left the hospital in . After I took over, I spent tons of money and time to restore her and build her. Unfortunately, the JDM 7M developed rod knock, so I needed a new Daily so I can build the Supra as a full-time project car.

Due to extenuating circumstances, I decided I wanted to buy a car I would keep alongside the supra and not sell as soon as I had the Supra running again. SC's just so happened to be in my price range. Long story short, I purchased a 1992 black SC400 with a little over 151k miles earlier this morning. There are issues (dead cluster needles, console button lights, cracked vents and door panels, bad respray job) it is in decent condition for a running SC. I bought it for $3700, which IMO is a steal since most running SC's in excellent shape are around the 5-9k area. It also threw the CEL on the way home: code 21 and 28, which after some research is the left and right O2 sensors. Easy fix once I find out where the O2 sensors are lol.

My plans for the SC (after I finish my goals for the MK3 7M) are to complete a full black out of the exterior (including a PROPER respray) and to convert the interior to all black (the PROPER way, no SEM for me). Since she will be the main daily, the power mods will be minimal, with focus on reliability and... sex appeal (also a full 97+ conversion as well). Once all that is said and done... heeeello supercharger!!!!! (twin screw to boot... love that scream!!)