Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Just got a "new" Polisher/Sander

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-11, 07:18 PM
djkidkris
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just got a "new" Polisher/Sander

My pops picked up a used sander polisher for $10 bucks for me at a flea market. Its an older Wen 943. Its 4 Amps max 1600 RPM 2 speed with a trigger lock. I'm new to car detailing and and thus far I've done everything by hand with decent success but takes up a ton of time. (wash, clay, cleaner wax, quick detailing, quick wax) I was hoping this is a cheap way to speed up the process. I plan on practicing a little bit on my beater Toyota Matrix and I'm not looking to do any major paint correction...yet. Maybe just polish out light swirls or little imperfections and apply wax (I have Megs Ultimate Polish and Ultimate Wax). I eventually want to get a Porter Cable 7424 unless Santa drops it off at the house first. LOL

I wanted to know if there are any concerns, tips, or opinions on using this polisher that I should be aware of. Also can I just get any pads to attach to this thing or do I need to figure out a specific type to get? Right now there is a rubber backing plate and I would need to get new pads.

Thanks for the help in advanced.
Attached Thumbnails Just got a "new" Polisher/Sander-img_20110829_211141.jpg   Just got a "new" Polisher/Sander-img_20110829_211121.jpg   Just got a "new" Polisher/Sander-img_20110829_211148.jpg  
Old 08-29-11, 09:05 PM
97-SC300
Lexus Fanatic

Received 128 Likes on 107 Posts

Nice man!

You ever use a rotary before? Practice on the bathroom sink or a junk panel first to get the hang of it. Don't put too much compound or polish on to avoid unnecessary splatter and don't jump right to a wool pad because that's the most aggressive cut and the most messy.