SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

New guy

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-13, 04:54 AM
RaginLEXXX
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New guy

Wanted to introduce myself...i reside in Hampton, Va. I am new to this platform. Any help/advise on this platform would be greatly appreciated. I am looking for a 5 speed SC300. My budget will be between 3000-4000. Looking forward to hearing what you guys think advise wise.

Last edited by RaginLEXXX; 11-02-13 at 06:26 AM.
Old 11-02-13, 11:49 AM
ASTERiSK
Lexus Test Driver

Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts

If possible I think you should try to find the newest and/or cleanest manual you can. They only came for the SC300 from 92-97, only 120 were made in 97 though. However these are relatively old cars and it's pretty tough to see it well taken care of. So with that budget I think you're only going to get something pretty worn out, and let me tell you that fixing the older SC's is not cheap.

Usually the guy's who settle for any running SC has money to fix it or is going to turn it into a project. As much as I like my car I wish it was more practical. SC's are known to be pretty bad on gas and it's longer than most cars.
Old 11-02-13, 12:08 PM
RaginLEXXX
Driver School Candidate

Yay, a response...so I would have to expand my budget then...is there a significant difference between the older cars and the 96-97? I own a Legend coupe so yeah know about expensive maintenance. Yeah they seem bad on gas so mine will be a weekend warrior. Thanks Asterisk, the search if officially on

Originally Posted by ASTERiSK
If possible I think you should try to find the newest and/or cleanest manual you can. They only came for the SC300 from 92-97, only 120 were made in 97 though. However these are relatively old cars and it's pretty tough to see it well taken care of. So with that budget I think you're only going to get something pretty worn out, and let me tell you that fixing the older SC's is not cheap.