Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

queston for Clint, but all are welcome to answer

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-01, 01:34 PM
spoolinsc
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up queston for Clint, but all are welcome to answer

I am new to the Lexus scene. I own an SC300 automatic. I have a couple of questions abot engine swaps, and trannys.

1) I want to build a serious car. Should I go with the 2jzgte or should I keep my 2jzge and turo the hell out of it?

2) What are the differences between the gte and ge? Will the intake manifold from the gte fit the ge?

3) I want to convert to 6 speed what parts do I need? (I know I need the tranny, shifter, pedals, master and slave cylinders for the clutch) I saw on Clints webpage that the shifter had to be modified, in what way?

4) I saw on Clints site that in order for the tach to wrk he needed some kind of interface. Where can I get this If I decide to do the gte? Instead of dealing with cutting and splicing the harness can I use one from a 1jzgte? If yes, do I still need the interface?

Thanks a lot Clint and who ever else responds. Any and all help is appreciated.

Ryan
Old 12-24-01, 02:40 PM
Shellhouse
Pole Position

1. Turboing the GE seems easier to me. But the GTE has better aftermarket. I think big power=GE and more power than you will ever need=GTE.

2. GTE has oil squirters, lower compression, distributorless ign., different head, and more aftermarket (manifolds, cams, etc.). The intake and exhaust manifolds aren't interchangable.

3. Flywheel, custom driveshaft, ...

4. ?
Old 12-26-01, 07:26 AM
SC300T
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post