LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Hey guys new member here and yes already a problem.

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-09, 04:54 PM
Tony (JP)
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cars killing me need help plz.

Well first of i'm new to the whole Lexus ownership but not new to Toyotas at all I've owned a turbo'd AE86 hatch along with a 1jz'ed MK3 supra and a 1992 Toyota Cressida I've had for awhile now.

I pick up a 1993 LS400 about 2 weeks ago in mint condition with 107K original miles the owner was a victim of the Weinstein Madoff scheme that went down a few months ago and owner was forced to sell. All I did was changed the battery terminals upgraded to an optima red battery changed the P/S fluid and threw on some 8000K HID's. So anyway the car was running fine but now coming across some problems, first thing im driving the car with the A/C on and if I turn it off as soon as I let go of the gas the RPMs drop all the way down and shuts off. If I turn of the A/C while stoped the RPMs drop and rumble for a sec then returns to normal.

Now second problem, this happened yesterday im coming back from a trip then all of a sudden the check engine light comes on and the TRAC shuts off then the RPMS start to jerk around 2k RPM. So whatever I pulled into a truck stop look under the hood and couldn't spot anything so I try to jump back on the highway and cars is hardly moving I have the peddle to the metal and nothing it very slowly starts to pick up speed.

The Reverse and L gear work fine, the fluid is a little dirty but nothing I would expect to be causing the failure I also check the dipstick to see if there was any metal shavings and nothing.
Sorry if I sound like a newb but im new to this car and don't even have a manual to figure anything out.

Last edited by Tony (JP); 08-22-09 at 02:09 PM.
Old 08-17-09, 04:57 PM
vaughn37
Pole Position