IS F (2008-2014) Discussion topics related to the IS F model

DIY Header Install

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-15, 07:07 PM
RichFlair
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DIY Header Install

I know there is a few guys on here who have installed there own headers. How would you rate the difficulty of the job? Any suggestions or tips? I might have access to a lift in the near future, and I'm thinking of doing the work my self. I was reading the sikky pdf and it doesn't seem to bad. I would say I'm a intermediate mechanic.
Old 05-13-15, 09:23 PM
idoke1
Instructor

Received 50 Likes on 31 Posts

Although i had not install a set of headers for the F, i'm pretty sure you can do it yourself. Its going to be a tedious job though. If you know someone who could help you, thats even better.
Old 05-14-15, 11:26 AM
Biggu
Lexus Champion

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

I did the install in my garage by my self and it was not bad at all. Worst part was removing the lower sub frame while trying to remove the steering rack and control arms. It is much easier with some one helping.

I have a lift, I do not envy the person that would do this in the garage on jack stands.
Old 05-14-15, 03:06 PM
Blzn335
Rookie

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

RichFlair do you live in NorCal or SoCal? I just moved to NorCal and am also interested in installing headers. Maybe we can do it together. I've heard it's not that bad of a job but without a lift I heard its kind of a ***** but I would be willing to give it a try with some help and some extra hands. Let me know if your interested. I do have to wait a little bit cause I have to smog my F pretty soon.
Old 05-14-15, 05:56 PM
RichFlair
Pole Position

Originally Posted by Blzn335