IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Steering is rough

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-07, 01:47 PM
LexusIS-TL
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Steering is rough

I don't know if that's the right way to put it but have you notice that everytime you make a sharper turn (say for example a U-Turn), you can hear this grinding like sound. But regular turns at intersections and such are normal. It turns just fine, it's just the sharper the turn, the more sound it makes. What do you guys think about that? Or do any of you notice the same thing?
Old 02-19-07, 02:02 PM
lexem
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Do you mean that you can hear grinding when you turn the wheel the whole way? If you turn the steering wheel all the way until you can't turn it anymore you will hear that sound. Every car I've ever had does it. If you let go just a little it won't do that. I think it's the power steering but I'm not an expert to say what it actually is.
If you don't have the steering wheel turned all the way until it stops, take it in.
Old 02-19-07, 02:07 PM
LexusIS-TL
Lead Lap

I'm not sure if it's even a grinding noise. It's really hard to explain the sound but it sounds like something rubbing on each other. It's perfect for the most part. Maybe it's just new and needs to be "loosened" up a bit. I try to make normal turns when I can and try not to turn the wheels to sharp to one side (unless I have to in U-Turns or in tight situations). Yeah, it makes the sound at the point where it can't turn anymore. Even when I loosen it up a bit, it still makes it until I straighten it out some more. I don't see any signs or rubbing anywhere at all. Must be internal.

I think what I'm going to do is to turn it sharper more often to see if it will eventually go away. It does have pretty responsive steering though, so that's nice of Lexus. Never was my Corolla ever like that.
Old 02-19-07, 02:20 PM
lexem
Pole Position