GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

OEM vs aftermarket brake pads

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-13, 01:38 AM
Lukas99GS
Instructor

Received 32 Likes on 23 Posts
Default OEM vs aftermarket brake pads

Hey everybody, my brakes are getting to the point where they "grind" once in a while need to replace soon, lexus dealer wanted somewhere around 650$ just for the rear brakes which is ridiculous in my opinion. Can anyone answer would the lexus pads really be any better than the higher cost ones at say autozone? I'd much rather buy those and do it myself, also anything special with this car to look out for while doing brakes I would assume not but I'm still new to this car.
Old 05-13-13, 01:52 AM
BosuGS
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I personally bought Genuine Toyota/Lexus pads for mine, but not for any reason in particular, I just prefer quality genuine parts wherever possible.

Only thing I'd say to look out for, take a photo or make notes on exactly how all the springs/clips go as they are a ***** to remember and if you lose/break any the pads will rattle, as mine are now after they sprung off (from incorrect fitment) whilst driving down the road and are gone for good.

New brake clip/pin fitting kit was $80 AUD from Lexus.

Other than that, just take all the usual/general precautions when working on any brake system, because if you stuff it up and then go for a test drive with no/faulty brakes it could end in diaster.

Good Luck

-Chris
Old 05-13-13, 08:29 AM
chubz
Lead Lap

im running the wagner thermoquiets on my gs300. had them for a few months and so far so good. they come with all the hardware and are pretty good stuff.
Old 05-13-13, 09:47 AM
Sevenevez
Racer

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

my new pads still sound like a hoard of mice. need something else
Old 05-13-13, 10:27 AM
raytseng
Instructor

Received 30 Likes on 27 Posts