ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

Aftermarket Double Din Radio install in an 04 es330 completed

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-10, 06:45 AM
m32
Intermediate

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Aftermarket Double Din Radio install in an 04 es330 completed

Just completed the install of a Pioneer Double Din nav in my friend's ES330 (non-Nav, non-mark Levinson).

Here's a complete list of parts you will need to make it work:
  1. Mark Levinson double din face plate - OEM ($120ish)
  2. Lexus Radio brackets (86211-33170 & 86212-33170)
  3. Metra TYTO-01 ($65 on ebay)
  4. American International Radio trim (TTR-992) ($10)

Total time it took me remove interior trim and install the HU, Bluetooth MIC, IPOd connector and back up cam - 8 hours. I'm not a professional and I needed some help along the way (thanks CL member Sceptre) but got it done.

AI Radio trim

OEM Radio Bracket

Test Fit and what it will look like

Few things to note along the way:
  • The metra harness has a "gain" dial so make sure you turn it up. I didn't and no sound was coming out at first. Once Sceptre told me about the gain, everything worked great.
  • you will need to trim the back edge of the radio fill trim (Item #4 up above) to fully secure the mounting brackets.
  • The VSS speed wire is the purple wire on the second plug from the top in the ECU (which is behind the glove box).
  • I'd recommend running wires (if you are connecting a backup cam) to the passenger side. There is a ton of room.

Any questions, feel free to pm me

Edwin
Old 09-15-10, 06:35 PM
tikyle
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

m32,

How did you run the backup cam wire? I'm about to do this in a couple days and I just need the route you took from dash to trunk. Thanks in advance.
Old 09-16-10, 08:09 AM
m32
Intermediate

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by tikyle
m32,