Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

IS250 dampening vs. C300

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-15, 03:21 PM
valeoray
Intermediate

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts
Default IS250 dampening vs. C300

I'd like to ask he suspension experts on what the difference is in specs between the cars my family owns. I have a 2011 IS250 AWD and my wife has a 2013 C300 4matic.

Her wheel gap is less than mine, and her ride is much more comfortable in terms of dampening when going over manhole covers. This is comparing her stock 225/45R17 inch continental tires (all seasons or winters; doesn't matter which) to my 16" winter Hankooks. The 16" are already softer and more comfortable than my 17" OEM Bridgestones (which are a bit worn), but I still feel the shock when going over manhole covers; more than the Benz.

I'm a NOOB in terms of struts/shocks/suspension. I kind of know about spring rates. Any insight would be appreciated. Thanks!
Old 01-08-15, 04:02 PM
FSportIS
Lexus Champion

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

A stock Lexus IS250 feels super comfortable, actually way too soft for my taste. I think the feel is very subjective as it is hard to describe technically what is more comfortable. What is comfortable to one person might be super stiff for someone else. It is all your perception and how you feel.

Also, I want to point out that comfort and handling performance do not go hand in hand. Generally speaking (don't quote me on this), good handling performance will inherit some kind of stiffness (high spring rate, stiffer dampening) in there to reduce body roll during cornering.
Old 01-08-15, 04:51 PM
knguyenk
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post