Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

350 adaptive suspension question

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-13, 09:54 AM
Stickyiqqy
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 350 adaptive suspension question

Hi,
I am new to Lexus and I have not yet purchased a vehicle but will do so very soon. I am debating between the 2014 IS 250 AWD F-Sport ML package & 2014 IS 350 AWD F-Sport ML package. Can't decide if I want the better fuel economy even though I have checked various websites like fueleconomy.gov & fuelly.com that show the 2 not being far off on gas mileage.

Anyways my question is about the 350 F-sport adaptive suspension. Since the car comes with adaptive suspension, is it not possible to put on after market springs or coilovers? Or can you put on after-market springs/coilovers but the adaptive suspension feature is disabled?

Curious to know and if anyone has an answer or opinion that would be great.

Thanks
Old 12-16-13, 11:40 AM
bucanero
Pole Position

Coilovers eliminate the S+ mode on 350's.
Springs do not.

250's don't come with S+ mode, so you can do as you please with them.

I have a 350 F Sport and would rather keep the S+ and just put springs. We have RS*R Downs and Super Downs, Tein S-Tech and H-Tech, and Tanabe I think...
Old 12-16-13, 01:43 PM
Stickyiqqy
Driver School Candidate

Hi Bucanero,

So adding springs to lower the vehicle does not eliminate the S+ mode. That is great news. I am leaning toward the 350 as if the gas mileage is about par may as well get the extra 102 hp.

Thanks for responding so quick.
Old 01-20-14, 02:16 PM
Wilnard
Driver School Candidate