Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

GS 300 400 430 Affordable BBK Idea, Option being considered by Mike at FIGS

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-12, 03:47 AM
ChampGS3
Pit Crew

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default GS 300 400 430 Affordable BBK Idea, Option being considered by Mike at FIGS

Hello GS community. I have been upgrading my 98 GS400 for the past 3 years and after doing many suspension and chassis tweaks, I have been looking to upgrade the braking performance of the factory setup. I have researched the current LS400 and Supra TT caliper options but I found that they really didn’t suit my needs for a Truly Affordable BBK that can also fit under the Factory/OEM wheels if necessary.

What would you say to a BBK that is Affordable and really Performs just as well as the more expensive 4pot designs without the installation hassle and higher cost? Mike Figaro himself stated that this IS300 kit, “stops better than the TT kit and has been track tested at very high speeds and temp cycling with aggressive pads”.

Some of you may be familiar with the IS300 BBK that was developed by FIGS but for those that aren’t, here is the link to the current setup. http://www.figsprops.com/brake.htm
Also I have included some pics to give you a better idea what we are proposing for the GS.
Please share your comments and level of interest and I am sure Mike will chime in if enough interest is shared/generated
This is an example on an IS300 with the Factory 17's without any spacer required!

Here is another IS300 BBK installation with Enkei PF01 17x8

This is the BBK shown with Supra 12.7" rotors, that with enough interest, can be adapted to the GS

And lastly an example of a factory/oem sliding caliper mount, from another vehicle, compared with an extended version that is the key to making this BBK work.

Last edited by ChampGS3; 02-01-12 at 06:09 PM.
Old 02-01-12, 05:03 AM
kit cat

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts