Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Big Brake Upgrade Myths and Fact *LONG Discussion*

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-08, 09:58 PM
gunluvS14
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Big Brake Upgrade Myths and Fact *LONG Discussion*

Hey Guys,

My name is Philip and I'm sort of "new" here, but I've been reading the SC forums for few years now. I just seldom post, the only reason I joined is because my brother has a SC300 and I like the overall platform a lot. Well, I have a strong Nissan S-chassis background, and I do quite a bit of automotive related research when I was an undergrad in college. I wrote a few papers for ASME and attended quite a bit of SAE event, so you can call me a nerd I might say

Anyway, I would like to share some of the interesting information I've found about brake upgrade in particular SC300/400 (Jzz30) platform.

I bought a set of 95+ LS400 front brake for my brother as Christmas gift, before I made the purchase, I did some research on how bad of brake bias will screw up after throwing on the LS400 brake to the front and leave the stock SC300 rear on. Some folks suggested upgrade the rear to the LS400, some suggested changed the rear to Supra TT rear setup can bring the brake bias back to factory spec. So I went on and research on all the information about the SC300, SC400, 95+LS400, and Jza80 TT brake information, and the result is a big surprising.
----------------------------------------------------------------------

First thing first, I found all of these information from the Brembo website, FSM, and brakewarehouse website. If some of the dimension are off, please let me know because it might change the calculation a little bit.

Well, a lot of people upgrade their brakes to a bigger unit because they want shorter stopping distance; some just like the look of it; some claimed the new BBK reduce unsprung weight (in some case) etc.