SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010)

runflats

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-01, 01:05 PM
philbrennan
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I had the misfortune to have a nail in my left rear tire over the weekend. The dashboard flat tire indicator worked as advertised, which I how I first found out. Funny thing was, I didn't notice it otherwise. What was even better: I took it to Stevens Creek Lexus and they replace the tire for free. They didn't have to do it, but they did. Needless to say I was quite impressed with the service.

On the downside, and let me qualify this by saying I am not a expert on tires in any way, the runflats do seem to skip around during high speed cornering. had a hard time holding the car on turns up on Skyline boulevard, especially beyond 60mph.

phil
Old 08-01-01, 09:59 PM
WJSOLOMON
Pole Position

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Question

Phil - I am interested in how your new SC performed at Speeds closer to the Car's Top End (156 mph + / -) in road surfaces with some minor road irregularities, Twists / Turns. Unless the tires were overinflated, it's rather unusual for such a High-Tech, High Speed Sport Car to "dance around" through the curves like you describe. Very Scary!

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

SOLO - 1
Old 08-02-01, 08:53 AM
philbrennan
Driver School Candidate

Solo,

My problems were on high-G turns. I noticed them mostly at high speed, but I also felt it at low speed on hair-pins. The tendency was for the tire to feel as if it was slipping by small amounts thru the turn when the G's were highest. I haven't had the car over 110 and my fastest corners have been at about 80 on sloping corners on Skyline Blvd above the South Bay. I have heard similar complaints from others with the tires. If you want true sports car performance, you have to change them. For me, since I'm not too radical at my age, they are a reasonble tradeoff to having to carry a spare.

Phil
Old 08-02-01, 04:16 PM
WJSOLOMON
Pole Position