SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

SC300/SC400 New Member Thread! Introduce yourself here!

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-19, 04:21 PM
DStol
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey I'm a mechanical Engineer currently working for the railroad, used to work on the assembly floor of a Harley plant. I came upon my 95 SC400 less than a year ago after trading my late brothers car for it. Was a Z guy for a long time but 1UZ has grabbed a hold of me.

Dying to get a 5/6 speed swapped in. Would love some advice on the best/cheapest way (Toyota or BMW trans preferred but Nissan welcome; I have a BMW 3 series donor). I though I saw a thread about BMW trans swapped but can't find it anymore.... Also not sure the manual trans for the 2UZ tundra is a bolt on or not.

She currently has a 60 mph sway and a viscous jerk/cluck when shifting into drive. Attacking the shift clunk I took advice from a thread on here to replace the trans mount but that didn't do it although the mount was in 2 pieces and needed replacing. After a deeper look I see I need front and read diff bushings/mounts, a driveshaft center bearing, and both driveshaft couplers.

Any advice on what I should avoid wasting money replacing if looking to do a manual swap I'd greatly appreciate it. I though the trans mount would save the life of the driveshaft so the $50 was worth a shot. I'm assuming even after swapping I'd be keeping the rear half of the shaft and the diff so one coupler and the diff mounts are a go?

Any advice is much appreciated. Be safe.
Old 03-23-19, 12:52 AM
PandaApex
Driver School Candidate

Lurked the forums a little, finally bothered to make an account to post. I originally had a 1992 LS400 in Black Jade Pearl, but midway through 2018 I ended up learning that a deer will win versus my front end during a spirited drive in the hills. By August, I ended up picking up a 1993 SC300 in Red Pearl/Garnet Pearl with a factory 5spd after some assistance from a friend.