RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

Cleaning gunk out of caliper piston. Best method?

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-19, 07:49 AM
swhockey98
Driver School Candidate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Cleaning gunk out of caliper piston. Best method?

Hey all,

I'm in the process of changing my rotors and pads on my 13' RX350 and noticed the pistons look rather filthy. Is there a way to clean the gunk and dirt out without having to take the piston out? I'm a novice and I'm worried if I try removing the pistons I may damage it. Is it possible to remove the gunk by lightly scrubbing with an old toothbrush and brake fluid? Or could I use brake cleaner instead?

Old 03-16-19, 07:57 AM
coolsaber
Lead Lap

Received 275 Likes on 246 Posts

does the piston work properly like move freely? Is the dust boot intact? If yes, then finish the brake job properly with brake lube and move on.

While I understand the optics, I would leave it alone.
Old 03-16-19, 01:08 PM
gs350fan
Intermediate

Received 40 Likes on 37 Posts

Originally Posted by swhockey98
Hey all,

I'm in the process of changing my rotors and pads on my 13' RX350 and noticed the pistons look rather filthy. Is there a way to clean the gunk and dirt out without having to take the piston out? I'm a novice and I'm worried if I try removing the pistons I may damage it. Is it possible to remove the gunk by lightly scrubbing with an old toothbrush and brake fluid? Or could I use brake cleaner instead?