RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

2013 RX 350 Aftermarket Car Battery - Reset Computer?

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-17, 10:08 AM
CodeRed
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2013 RX 350 Aftermarket Car Battery - Reset Computer?

My RX is now 4 years old, I am looking at replacing the car battery as a preventive / maintenance measure.
When I went online to search for battery replacement, I see the description says "COMPUTER MUST BE RESET"

For example, (under fitment notes)
https://www.pepboys.com/product/deta...OHC?quantity=1

Although I have been driving for 10+ years now (not my first car and not the first time buying batteries - have always been a DIY guy), but it's my first Lexus and first car with a factory navigation system.
I did a little research online, there are discussions saying the alternator may under-charge / over-charge the battery and it causes damages;

It really confuses me and pull my leg from making the purchase.
I hope to receive some guideline / info from seasoned/experienced Lexus owners in the forum.

** I assume some would suggest OEM battery, but all of us who drives know we tend not to go OEM for parts and/or services because of the $$ factor unless it's some key components on the vehicle.
** For battery in particular, many aftermarket ones do give higher CCA

Any helpful info is appreciated.

Last edited by CodeRed; 11-08-17 at 10:18 AM. Reason: wrong model on the title
Old 11-08-17, 10:31 AM
Htony
Lexus Champion

Received 133 Likes on 123 Posts

You can keep all the settings if you hang a small 12V battery in parallel B4 disconnecting the battery. Of course there are many better choices in after market batteries. Any good battery shop will replace the battery for you without losing anything.
The following users liked this post:
CodeRed (11-08-17)
Old 11-08-17, 10:57 AM
vlad_a
Lexus Champion

Received 54 Likes on 52 Posts