Performance Forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Which exhaust is good

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-01, 08:58 PM
changster
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Not to sound stupid, I don't know much about exhaust system. I am new at this, in the market to get a good exhaust that is not too loud. There are few different exhaust, I am looking at Tanabi exhaust I think that is the right spelling. RMM, Blitz. Don't know which one is good, or if there are other that I don't know about. Any input will be helpful. thanks
Old 06-23-01, 09:29 PM
Risk3233
Driver

I'm going to do my best to integrate what I know about this subject. BTW this topic is discussed beyond in-depth on IS.net.

The OEM exhaust is a traditional baffled type of cannister which has 2" piping leading to the cannister. It's rather heavy about 15 lbs. It creates decent power, and is really quiet.

Most of the aftermarket exhausts systems out there replace only the rear section of the exhaust. The exception is the Tanabe which replaces the exhaust at the main catalytic ("cat") convertor.

Generally the aftermarket exhaust have larger piping leading to the cannister; generally 2 1/4" or in some cases 2 1/2". The cannister is also different in that some of the systems use low restriction baffled units similar to the stock unit (i.e. Stillen, TRD) or round cannisters (i.e. 5Zigen, HKS, Blitz, Magnaflow).

Two things to consider is noise and power. Generally, most of the systems will be louder than OEM, but do create noticeable power increases. I'm not qualified to state the noise increases because I haven't heard them all. Personally, I have the 5Zigen and it is louder than stock, but not as loud as other systems as reported by others. You will get add'l power w/an aftermarket system when compared to OEM. BTW some of these aftermarket systems have independent dyno runs posted on IS.net. The added benefit of the 5Zigen is that it is 7 lbs. lighter than stock.