Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

OBD2 Monitor Question

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-16, 08:25 PM
Tau511
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cannot get EVAP or O2 systems to run for emissions test

I've put a ton of miles on the car since I replaced the battery but both EVAP and O2 still read Not Ready on my OBD2 reader. I need at least 1 to run in order to pass the emissions test. Any ideas on why they might not be running? I have never had to make a car pass SMOG before so I'm new to all of this.

1997 Lexus SC400

I do get 2 pending codes - both EVAP - so I assume that's why the EVAP system is not ready but why won't the O2 sensors run their check?
Old 01-19-16, 01:26 PM
Tau511
Driver School Candidate

Default OBD2 Monitor Question

Has anyone ever heard of a problem with this system that will not allow a monitor to finish its drive cycle? I'm trying to figure out what to do. No matter what I do driving wise I cannot get the O2 monitor to ready status. It does not throw any codes - no pending and no faults but they won't pass me with it set as not ready.

No idea what to do. I even broke down and called a diagnostics shop. The guy there also did not know what to do.

Help?
Old 01-19-16, 07:34 PM
TXMAG
Driver

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts

The only time I've seen that type of failure is with a bad or weak O2 sensor, bad wiring to the O2 sensor or someone running an aftermarket engine management system where the tune messed it up.