Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Sc300 Clutch Master Cylinder DIY

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-13, 08:12 AM
edsel1134
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sc300 Clutch Master Cylinder DIY

rejoined this forum a few weeks ago. After my car started to have some start up issues and sticky clutch pedal issues. I searched Hi and low for a write up on the Clutch Master Cylinder replacement. Found nothing. I have never done one of these before so i was starting to Panic. Well after about 15 mins of inspecting i realized how simple it is and wish to pass my findings on.
In this thread you will learn to disconnect the clutch master cylinder and remove/ replace it.
Note: Preform and your own risk
Tools needed
1/4 drive wrench
12mm socket for 1/4 drive prefer deep
14mm wrench
Needle nose
paper towel
small pry bar

Step one:
Locate clutch master cylinder next to brake booster. Pry the lid off the res and remove plastic float. Carefully place paper towel around the master. Next insert a wad of paper towel into the res to help soak up the fluid. Be careful not to spill the fluid is highly corrosive.

Step 2: Move the driver seat as far back as possible. Next Crawl under the dash and locate clutch pedal. Follow it to the bracket where you should see a 12 Mm Nut. reach over the peddle bracket right next to the 12 Mm nut to locate the second one. Both these will need to be removed with your 1/4 drive. The Nut on the back side of the bracket is pain. My advice break it loose and carefully back it out with your hands.

Step 3
Next while under dash locate the push pin connecting the piston to the pedal. Gently grab the end and remove push pin from bracket pin. Next pull bracket pin out and place some where you will not loose it

Step 4