Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Suggestions for Bolt On exhaust???

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-07, 01:49 PM
tommyt811
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suggestions for Bolt On exhaust???

New to CL, so im a noob. I have a 93 sc400, so far completely stock (not for long) and i would like to know more about exhaust for this car.

Do they make complete bolt on kits? Are there differences between bolt on and welds? If i were to get bolt on mufflers or whatnot, what else do i need to put on my car?

i am a complete noob. So let me know guys. Sorry.
Old 03-03-07, 07:19 PM
Blizzy
Lexus Champion

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

First off, please search. There are dozens of exhaust threads.

The closest thing to a bolt on for the SC400 will be an axle-back system that replaces the stock mufflers and a couple inches of pipe. This will effect the tone of the exhaust moreso than the performance characteristics. Anything beyond this will require a custom set-up that you and your exhaust shop will have to throw together.

Please let us know what your exhaust goals are. Are you looking for more sound? less sound? high pitched and raspy tone? low pitched and deep tone? low end performance? top end performance? bang for buck performance? the ultimate exhaust system?

Until you let us know your goals, it is impossible for us to guide you. Maybe you like the civic-esque fart cans. Maybe you want to put a trailer hitch on the back and increase torque from 500-2k rpms. Let us know...and search it up in the meantime.
Old 03-03-07, 09:02 PM
tommyt811
Driver School Candidate

something that'll sound more of a deep sound. Not too loud. If it increases HP then awesome, if not, no biggie.

I just want more of an aggressive sound.

Any ideas and tips on how i can go about starting this?
Old 03-03-07, 09:28 PM
Blizzy
Lexus Champion

Originally Posted by tommyt811