Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Best year of SC to buy for 2JZ-GTE swap

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-05, 03:02 PM
Wreckless
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best year of SC to buy for 2JZ-GTE swap

Hello guys & gals.

I'm new to the idea of a Lex but I'm not new to boosted Toyota power, I've had several 3rd generation Supras, and several friends of mine have MK4 Supras, SW20 MR2 Turbos, and even ST185 Celica All Tracs.
But I'm getting tired of babysitting the 7M-GTE's found in my MK3. I considered a 2JZ-GTE swap into one of my existing MK3 Supras but after meeting a gentleman from Durango named Greg W that has a 2JZ-GTE/T66/BL trans/75 shot that ran constant mid 11's@125+ with an almost 9000ft DA at the drag strip, I got interested in perhaps getting an SC300 for the swap instead.

I'd be getting the car with the intent of doing an Aristo 2JZ-GTE swap. I've searched comprehensively and looked all throughout many posts on this forum and read about 80% of Intellextual.net and www.lextreme.com as well.
However, nothing specifically corresponds to an ideal year for parts support, any weird changes, etc. Since emissions where I live in Albuquerque, NM here is OBD-II based for 96+ years I'd be getting a 92-95.

Is there any year of that range that is more ideal than the others? Also, I've found conflicting information on the auto--->5-spd/6-spd swap in an SC, is it as easy as an OBD-I MK4 Supra auto-6spd swap, or are there other complications that would make it much easier to start with a 5-spd? I've searched, I promise, go easy on me

-Jeff
Old 08-12-05, 03:17 PM
got_trd
Lexus Champion

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I think i've had to say this just about everyday this week
Attached Thumbnails Best year of SC to buy for 2JZ-GTE swap-cl.jpg  
Old 08-12-05, 07:48 PM
Wreckless
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by got_trd