Maintenance Discuss common Lexus maintenance questions here.

Toyota's Mistake and Punishment

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-02, 10:19 PM
lex227
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Toyota's Mistake and Punishment

Let me begin with some admissions:

---I think Toyota consistently builds the finest cars in the world in their respective price ranges. (That's why I have bought several Previas and Lexuses, even though the dealers are also consistently arrogrant and hard to deal with) But even they occasionally make design errors.

--- I am a corporate defense lawyer; I make my living by defending corporations against defective product claims. (That's why I can afford to buy the Lexuses)

I advise my clients that when they do have a product defect the best thing they can do is admit it early and put a program into place to fix the defective units and advise the customer about what to do to prevent further damage. This will save them a lot of money in the long run and will solidify their customer base and probably attract new ones because they are taking a responsible position.

Toyota has not done this. They have lied, fraudulently denied valid warranty claims, and intentionally misled their customers. They are now trying to do the responsible thing with their new "gel" program, and should be commended for it. But that does not excuse their prior behavior and (in addtition to replacing or repairing defective engines) should be punished for it.

The reason they should be punished is as a deterent to doing the same thing next time. They way the punishment is accomplished is by a significant fine, in the the tens of millions, or and punitive (additional ) damages awarded by a court to injured customers.

I would encourage the readers to demand that Toyota be taught a lesson.
Old 02-23-02, 09:13 AM
wwest
Lead Lap

Default No way