LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Hack a valet key to make a master?

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-14, 10:38 AM
eld4au6
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hack a valet key to make a master?

Hi, I'm new to lexus's but a long term toyota land cruiser owner(83 and 95). I recently added a 98 ls 400 to the fleet after eyeing them for years and the car of course came with only the valet key. I have read up on the issues with getting a new master key without having a master key to "copy", but I have to question if it is possible to open up the valet key somehow to get the immobilizer chip out of it, then place it into the master key along with a used button assembly to create a cheaper master key? This idea stems from multiple threads I have read on the subaru forums in the past(also have a 05 STi) with some members wanting to use the 04 STi key on the 05+ STi's equipped with the immobilizer(the 04 key looks much cooler and is made of Titanium).

My ls 400 also came with the shell of the master key with the key already cut, so all I need to buy in theory is the guts of the key. Now this idea is only conceivable if this question can be answered the way I hope, can you program the keyless on the master key without dealing with the immobilizer portion of the assembly?

Thanks!
Old 03-17-14, 11:24 AM
sha4000
Lexus Test Driver

Received 334 Likes on 288 Posts

Short answer no, you need the master to program any additional keys to my understanding.

Last edited by sha4000; 03-17-14 at 03:07 PM. Reason: spelling
Old 03-17-14, 02:17 PM
RA40
Super Moderator

Received 463 Likes on 361 Posts

The master key has a different notch at the tip of the key compared to the valet. I have a thread here with a pic showing the difference. The transponder within as far as I am aware does not relate to anything other than allowing the engine to run.
Old 03-17-14, 05:23 PM
eld4au6
Driver School Candidate