LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Super weird radiator problem *PIC*

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-11, 08:15 PM
JNeezy
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Super weird radiator problem *PIC*

So last week I was driving to get some items for my girlfriend and all of the sudden smoke starts pouring out from under my hood. Temp gauge shot all the way up, engine "dieseled" and cold air was coming out of the vents. I pull over to the side of the road and pop the hood expecting the worst - I had a Dodge Shadow (shudder) that blew the head gasket in the middle of winter. Not fun.

Here is what I saw: a hole in the radiator.

Anybody seen anything or heard of anything like this before?

-JNeezy
Attached Thumbnails Super weird radiator problem *PIC*-img_0015.jpg  

Last edited by JNeezy; 10-26-11 at 08:16 PM. Reason: User error
Old 10-26-11, 08:26 PM
mantastic
Driver School Candidate

First off I'm no pro and i could be wrong. Is there any traces of coolant in oil dip stick?if milky looking could be a blown head gasket causing too much pressure in radiator. Or bad thermostat that was getting stuck. Could be other things as well. Hope any of this helps.
Old 10-26-11, 08:49 PM
PureDrifter
BahHumBug

Received 94 Likes on 86 Posts

looks like its been overheated pretty badly, that coolant looks milky.

posting the year of your car would help a LOT
Old 10-26-11, 09:03 PM
JNeezy
Driver School Candidate

95 LS400. There is no trace of coolant in the oil. For a couple of days before it would blow cold air, then the temp gauge would climb and the system would "burp" and then it would blow hot air for a little while. Then back to cold air. I opened the bleed screw and added coolant through the housing.
Old 10-26-11, 09:38 PM
Hilux22RE
Pole Position