LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Cryo rotors

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-07, 11:25 AM
RA40
Super Moderator

Received 463 Likes on 361 Posts
Default Cryo rotors

I didn't want to post in the vendor section because it is not the place. This is one reply I received when this was put by some of my metal working friends:

If the steel used is a secondary hardening steel, it could be beneficial. If it isn't (and most steels used on brake rotors aren't) then it's not worth the added expense.

At least in my opinion. But I am not a metallurgist, just some guy that reads a lot....

What was the goal of cryo treating? Harder steel, longer life, more stopping power? Again, I'm not an expert, but it seems to me that a harder steel would resist the abrasion of the brake pads, and as a result, stopping power would be reduced. Consider that, in order to stop via abrasion, the coefficient of friction comes into play, and a harder steel would have a lower CF. Maybe. Again, I suppose that depends on the steel and what sort of microstructures are present through the depth of the rotor.

Hmm. Thinking about it, it seems to me that if you make the steel harder but more abrasive (by creating hard microstructures), you're going to go through brake pads a heck of a lot faster. So you have the tradeoff of having to buy those more often. That could actually be more expensive than just buying a set of rotors every few years.

Personally, I consider it a waste of money. Brake rotors are designed to be consumed slowly over their life, and the typical life of rotors (based on my experience alone) is about 100k miles. I suppose it could be useful on racecars in endurance races - like 24 Hours Of Le Mans to ensure that your rotors don't fail prematurely, but last I looked, those rotors weren't even made of steel - it's some sort of composite or high alloy (can't find the reference, too busy to look).