Sponsored by:

Installing Sony head unit in 99 GS with Factory NAV

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-09, 01:59 PM
Selvarace
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Installing Sony head unit in 99 GS with Factory NAV

Hello Stereo gurus. I have been installing stereos for many years and we do install systems at my Tuner Shop, but stereos are not our specialty. So heres the problem. I have a 99 GS400 that is my daily driver. Factory NAV that works just fine. The Climate control works just fine. Something is wrong with the tuner where my volume and balance goes in and out as I hit bumps in the road.

Id like to keep the factory NAV and Climate Control. Is it possible to keep all that in tact and just remove the lower unit that has the tuning buttons/volume/cassette deck? Id like to just replace the factory audio with a Sony or Pioneer CD/AM/FM/iPod control unit. Along with that, just make it a stand alone sytem not integrated in any way wit the NAV and Climate. So I'd be running new wires for speakers and maybe even do amp and new small sub/box. i dont want a booming system, so I'm just looking at keeping it simple.

Has anyone had any problems by removing the factory cassette head unit and replacing it with something else? Or am I just better off replacing it with another factory unit. I just dont have the experience with the NAV. I dindnt want to have problems if by removing the cassette head would it damage delicate circuits or software in the NAV hardrive. Many thanks in advance!
Old 08-11-09, 03:40 PM
Kansas
Lead Lap

Received 252 Likes on 199 Posts

I'm certainly not a "stereo guru" and don't even have a GS but I've installed a bunch of aftermarket DIN stereos in mostly European cars and a few Hondas over too many years to acknowledge. OK, I've been doing it since the 1960s.