IS F (2008-2014) Discussion topics related to the IS F model

Check engine and turn off on Track day

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-17, 08:24 PM
ChileanISF
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Check engine and turn off on Track day

Hello everyone, I'm new to the LC, I just bought my 2012 ISF about 3 months ago and just went to my first track day on a small track in Chie (Leydaring). It drives great, no leaks, etc. Until today... driving on track after only about 5 or 6 laps, the oil temp went a bit high (about 3/4) and sudenly the check engine turned on and the car turned off. No abnormal smells, leaking, smoking, etc. After waiting for 30 minutes and disconecting the battery to reset the ECU the car started perfectly, so y went for another laps and same thing happened after 4 laps. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Old 01-13-17, 01:49 AM
isfvss
Racer

Received 139 Likes on 110 Posts

GET IT TO A GOOD SHOP ASAP before some thing goes BANG have you checked all fluids, I would say you have low or ***** oil and filter don't push it.
The following users liked this post:
ChileanISF (01-13-17)
Old 01-13-17, 04:02 AM
chris07is
Pole Position

Received 91 Likes on 65 Posts

get the codes when the CEL is on, then go from there...
ChileanISF (01-13-17)
Old 01-13-17, 05:10 AM
bbong
Intermediate

Received 28 Likes on 16 Posts

Oil temps going high were normal for me when tracking the car without an Oil Cooler. I would even see temps as high as one bar from highest, after getting the oil cooler I don't see it go higher than 1-2 bars above mid, however I never got a CEL or car shut off on me. Read the CEL codes and get to the bottom of it as it does not sound good.
ChileanISF (01-13-17)
Old 01-13-17, 06:17 AM
ChileanISF
Driver School Candidate

Thanks guys, I will do that snd let you know. ��
Old 01-13-17, 09:02 AM
bbong
Intermediate

Originally Posted by ChileanISF
Thanks guys, I will do that snd let you know. ��