Hybrid Technology Unique topics related to the LS600h L model hybrid drivetrain and other features/options found only on the LS600h. Please use the main 4LS forum for discussion about shared components with other fourth generation LS models.

Inside the LS600H transmission - awesome cut-away pics from the Tokyo Motor Show!

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-09, 01:39 PM
Seize
Loves Snickerdoodles!

Received 68 Likes on 53 Posts
Default Inside the LS600H transmission - awesome cut-away pics from the Tokyo Motor Show!

I didn't know a transmission could look so nice

*more pics here
http://jalopnik.com/5386533/ls600h-n...tos//gallery/5
Old 10-21-09, 02:15 PM
Johnny
Pole Position

Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts

I agree with you. I am a retired industrial gear designer, and that gearbox makes me drool. It sure shoots down the stereotypical notion that Japanese engineers are only good at copying and not at designing. This transmission is a masterpiece, and I'm glad they are overtly showing it off. They deserve all the accolades they get.

Btw, those two DC motors really make their presence felt when you floor the 600. I'm amazed they are able to incorporate them in there with all that oil sloshing around just mere centimeters away..
Old 10-21-09, 03:08 PM
josephdoc
Lexus Champion

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Nice!!

I saw this in person in TokyoAutoSalon a few years ago. It is huge, and the enginuity in it just amaze me.
Old 10-21-09, 05:33 PM
encore888
Lexus Champion

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Yes it is quite a thing of beauty...also for some relatedness here is the 8-speed unit in the IS-F:

Old 10-21-09, 06:40 PM
Johnny
Pole Position

Looking at these two specimens, one can see stark differences between them. The ECVT gear system, and the hybrid DC motors together make the 600's transmission a radically simpler design, which results in less clutter, and probably a longer life. Wouldn't you just love to work in the department that puts these babies together?